Guitar shop for acoustic set up near Bracknell?

What's Hot
marc1tmarc1t Frets: 0
edited December 2017 in Acoustics
hi
can anyone recommend a reputable guitar shop or luthier near me (Bracknell) for checking/ set up on an acoustic don’t mind traveling a bit for good service
Im a novice guitarist so not familiar with any in my area 
cheers Marc

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• prowlaprowla Frets: 4896
    I'd recommend either:

http://mickjohnsonguitars.com/ - he builds from scratch and does pro setups.

http://www.amencornermusic.co.uk/ - nice blokes, cater for the budget end.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • LewyLewy Frets: 4125
    Based on two poor jobs they’ve done for me (a long time ago), and the general level of bad information I’ve over heard them giving people looking for advice when I’ve been in there, I’d avoid Amen Corner. 

Instead I’d suggest Apex Music in Woodley. Still not a full on luthier but fine for small jobs/set ups etc
  • crunchmancrunchman Frets: 11413

Not that far from Charlie Chandler in Hampton Wick.  Probably only half an hour or so.  He's not cheap but he's good.

Joe White might be worth a look as well:

https://www.jwhite-guitarworkshops.co.uk/

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Mick Johnson is just down the road from you in Shinfield near Reading. He’s teched for many famous names and builds guitars from the ground up too. He’s done some great work on my guitars, but he does get busy (for a reason)...

http://mickjohnsonguitars.com/
  • Just realised prowla beat me to it!
  • Hi cheers
    iv sent an email to Mick Johnson being new to this I’m not even sure weather my guitar needs it or not so I’m sure he will give me the right advice
    Alsi contacted Guitar village in Farnham they said they would check for free but would cost £80 plus strings & would need the guitar for 10 days.