Short Scale Bass Recommendations

What's Hot

So, having gotten used to my Taylor GS Mini-e bass, in fact I am unable to put it down as it is more addictive than crack, I have come to realise that the vast majority of my bass playing woes over several years stem from my small hands vs. full scale bass necks. So I’ve decided to sell up all my full sized basses (Godin A4 and my new Aerodyne that’s barely a month old) and stick exclusively to short scale. I’ve been looking at a Gretsch G2220 but as I am a novice in the world of short scale basses I thought I better see if anyone has any recommendations or ideas. I have the Taylor and I’ll be getting a second as a back up but I want a short scale electric bass and as it will be my only EB I’d like as good quality as I can get...

Whaddya think?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Moe_ZambeekMoe_Zambeek Frets: 3419
    edited January 2018
    Reverend Wattplower might be a contender?

Doubtless budget will be the main concern.
  • paulnb57paulnb57 Frets: 3044
    edited January 2018
    Scott Whitley produced a run of his own design short scale, but they are now produced by Chowny, there are vids of them on YouTube......

http://chownybass.com/product/swb-1-scott-whitley-signature/

Stranger from another planet welcome to our hole - Just strap on your guitar and we'll play some rock 'n' roll

• Yes, a Chowny SWB Pro is top of my list at the moment.
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 71955
    This might sound odd since the scale length is almost as long as a standard full-scale - only 3/4" shorter, 33.25" - but see if you can find a Rickenbacker 4001 or 4003 to try. Like you I have small hands, and I've never been able to quite comfortably play a 34" scale - but I've also always found a 30.5" scale unsatisfying in the end, even though I've quite liked some basses with it.