More MIDI questions

What's Hot
smudge_ladsmudge_lad Frets: 653

If there's a better forum for this type of thing, please let me know and I'll move the post :) 

I'm just about to start trying to set up my Boss ES-8 and planning to use it to change patches on my DD-500 as well as the channels on my JVM via MIDI. 

Now, I’m definitely not expecting to be able to get this all up and running instantly as I have no prior experience/knowledge of using MIDI, but just have a couple of wee questions that I’m hoping folk can help with to help me on my way:

How many MIDI cables will I need? Can I just do: ES-8 > DD500 > JVM, or do I need to create a complete loop: ES-8 >DD500 > JVM > ES8?

(Or even: ES-8 >DD500 > JVM > DD500 > ES8?)

Can anyone suggest any useful links/references that I can read through to get a basic understanding of what I need to know, to get me started? 

I really am not looking to set up anything complicated here – no tap tempo, no fancy switching/parameter changes – just amp channel changes and patch changes on the DD500 

Thanks in advance

Keir

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Series is fine, no loop needed. You’ll just need to assign each thing it’s own midi channel. To simplify, let’s say your amp is on channel 1, and your dd500 is on channel 2. You’ll be able to specify on your ES8 which midi channel any given message gets sent to. The amp will only listen to messages sent on channel one (or omni messages) and the dd500 only on 2. Your DD500 should (I imagine; I don’t have one) have DIN ports for both in and Thru. So connect es8 to the in, then dd500 Thru port out to the amp midi in. 

Hope this helps / makes sense. 
  • JayGeeJayGee Frets: 1254
    That shouldn’t be a problem.