Non-Guitar Centric Music

What's Hot

Comments

• SnapSnap Frets: 6256
    Thanks for all this Clarky, its ace. I love it.

I studied piano, classical, through all the grades (Mum was a music teacher) from about 6 upto age 14. Then I decided pianos were too girly and I needed to play a guitar to get the girls!

Got into synths too (in a band as a teenager for many years), but tbh I was more into the noises they could make, rather than the actual music.We had some cracking kit for a bunch of teenagers too, as we all worked our asses off in Saturday, evenings, weekend jobs. We even had a Minimoog at one point, as well as a DX27, Korg Poly6, Poly 800, Roland SH101, drum machines, and never mind the PA and amps! Loads of gear I'd love to have now tbh (WEM copycat !)

It was at this point I started to forget all the musical stuff I'd learnt tbh. If it didn't make a big massive rawkin noise, I wasn't fussed. This means that whilst I can read music, I am slow reading for anything apart from the piano. There's a step needed to convert from 88 keys to 6 strings.

I was raised on classical music, my Mum had it on the go all the time, so if you'd asked me age 13 how a fugue works, or a minuet etc, I'd have had no problem. Not the case now! Whilst I may be able to tell you if a piece is Baroque, Romantic, maybe even the composer (at a stretch), beyond that I'm clutching at history and vague memories!!

So, this sort of stuff is a real shot in the arm and is making me wish I'd kept up with the theory.

Whereas my baby bro did a degree in jazz and then went to Berklee to do his postgrad in composition, now that boy can play.....(piano).
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • ClarkyClarky Frets: 3261
    Snap said:
    Thanks for all this Clarky, its ace. I love it.