VERY basic question about guitar and bass

What's Hot
Do the notes of a bass line always have to match the chords?

What I mean is: If the bass line is B, C, B, G, for example, are you then restricted to some form of B, C, B, and G for the chords? 

I’m new to song writing, and often get the bass line given to me for me to write guitar to it. So far, it never works unless I stick slavishly to the same notes. Or am I being too narrow-minded?

Telecaster American Deluxe, Cornell Romany amp, without the talent to use them properly
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• prowlaprowla Frets: 4896
    Of course not!
  • flying_pieflying_pie Frets: 1806
    edited March 2018
    No.

Depending on the song it might not even need to blend with the chords. Dissonance can be a great tool.

The example you gave could have all manner of possibilities. You could play G C Em G for example. Or B C G G. Or B C G Em... Or... 

You could easily have a song where the bass plays the same note over and over and the chords change around it
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • Winny_PoohWinny_Pooh Frets: 7731
    Simply put, the bass line dances around the chords.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • ijontyijonty Frets: 32
    Yes, my instincts say that surely there’s loads of freedom. But as I know ZERO theory, I’m just picking chords randomly.

Perhaps that’s fine, as it’s only the sound that matters, but presumably there’s a way of knowing what’s more likely to work.

For example, why specifically suggest G C Em G @flying_pie? Is there a reason for those?

Apologies if this is very basic, but you’ve got to start somewhere, right?

Telecaster American Deluxe, Cornell Romany amp, without the talent to use them properly
    ijonty said:
    For example, why specifically suggest G C Em G @flying_pie? Is there a reason for those?