Which Studio Monitors ?

What's Hot
Real newbie here - just looking for something fairly small, as my music room (and indeed house) is pretty small !

Any recommendations ?

Budget ? I dunno, £600 ?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• robinbowesrobinbowes Frets: 3021
    At that sort of price, I'd be looking at Genelec 8020s.

R.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • rossyamaharossyamaha Frets: 2439
    Yeah Genelec are incredible speakers. Never heard anything that gives such a wide sweet spot as well as stereo image. 

Other alternatives you can look at are obviously the Yamaha HS's. If it's a small room the HS7's would be more than adequate but might be worth looking at the HS5's with a sub. If you're going to be up against a wall, well worth looking at the KRK VXT's. They are front ported so you won't get ay reflections off the wall. 

I play guitar and take photos of stuff. I also like beans on toast.

• antifashantifash Frets: 603
    I got some Adams A3x - £300. Quality. Adams primarily.  
  • sweepysweepy Frets: 4158
    Yamaha HS8’s get good reviews and leave you spare money for decent leads and Auralex Mo-Pads.
    how big is your room and how far will you be from them when sat at your desk
  • FretwiredFretwired Frets: 24601
    Yamaha HS5's or HS7's depending on space or if it's really small IK Multimedia iLoud Monitors. I have a pair of the HS7's and the iLoud's and they are both great.

Remember, it's easier to criticise than create!
  • antifashantifash Frets: 603
    Focusrite are also good 
  • stratman3142stratman3142 Frets: 2177
    I like my HS7's.

It's not a competition.
  • spark240spark240 Frets: 2073
    HS7's here too...

Mac Mini M1
    Presonus Studio One V5
     https://www.studiowear.co.uk/ -
     https://twitter.com/spark240
     Facebook - m.me/studiowear.co.uk
    Reddit r/newmusicreview 
  • danishbacondanishbacon Frets: 2694