Ivison Guitars - Build and Repair Thread

What's Hot
IvisonGuitarsIvisonGuitars Frets: 6838
edited June 2019 in Made in the UK tFB Trader
Hi fellow 'boarders!

As some of you already know, I've been a vintage Junior 'nut' for a LONG time and 18 months ago, I set about building my own vintage correct Junior for myself and, after loaning it out to a few playing pals of mine, ended up making a few more! This project has had a few false starts, mainly due to time available: I was a touring guitar tech for 15 years as well as a gigging musician myself so free time was at a premium. However, having stopped touring extensively, I now find myself with the time to pursue the project with the effort and attention to detail I expect from myself.

I have been lucky enough to own some superb vintage '50's Juniors:

a 1955 Single Cut Junior
a 1956 Single Cut TV Special
a 1957 Single Cut Junior
a 1959 Double Cut Junior &
a 1959 Double Cut TV Model

Each of these guitars has been meticulously measured and documented and I now feel I am at a point were I can build a vintage spec Single or Double Cut guitar getting as close as possible with the modern materials available that looks, sounds & feels like a vintage guitar but a player is not afraid to take out and gig.

The basic spec is: 

1 Piece African Mahogany Body
1 Piece African Mahogany Neck - Profile replicated from an original 1959 DC.
17 degree headstock angle as per the originals
Single action truss rod with maple filler strip
Indian Rosewood fingerboard
Vintage Correct 50's Celluloid dot inlays
Faber Wraparound Bridge - EXACT weight and construction as the original bridges
Faber Studs & Anchors
Either Mojo or Oil City Handwound P90
CTS Pots
Bumblebee cap
Switchcraft Jack Socket
Aged Kluson Tuners
Bone Nut
Aged Knobs
Aged Pointer Washers
Aged Strap Buttons
All plastics are cut from accurate 50's templates.
100% Nitrocellulose Finish
Aniline Dyes used where applicable.