What is the II chord in Am?

What's Hot
FuengiFuengi Frets: 2849
Had lesson yesterday, it's makes on the sheet as Bd/m (or is it Bdim?) What is this chord?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• ArchtopDaveArchtopDave Frets: 1367
    edited March 2018
    It’s B Diminished. The notes in the chord are B, D and F - Root, Flat 3rd and Flat 5th. If you add the 7th, which in this case is a Flat 7th, then you have Bm7b5, which is a Half Diminished Chord. You are simply taking the Notes themselves from the A Minor Scale.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 4reaction image Wisdom
  • sm55onlsm55onl Frets: 28
    edited March 2018
    I’m no expert but from doing some reading of late...

A (natural) minor scale: A B C D E F G | A B C...(ad inifinitum)
    http://www.guitar-chords.org.uk/chords-key-a-minor.html

Thereafter take, starting from note B (building chords via triads) each alternate note...giving the group of notes
    B D F A

Now set the above group of notes against the B major scale (B C# D# E F# G# A#)
    http://www.guitar-chords.org.uk/guitarscales/b-major-scale.html

B [root],
    D [flat third, b3]
    F [flat fifth, b5]
    A [flat seventh, b7]

Thus, depending on whether a group of three notes (B D and F) or four notes (B D F A) is used then the harmonised (diatonic ?) chords will be either

B dim
    [R, b3, b5]

or

B half-diminished (or named as Bmin7b5 or Bm7b5)
    [R, b3, b5, b7]

http://www.jazzguitar.be/blog/jazz-guitar-chord-theory/

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14323
    Brian Wilson knew how to use a ii chord. :)
    Be seeing you.
  • BlueingreenBlueingreen Frets: 2582
    edited March 2018
    The way I learned this was to learn the pattern of 7th chords in the major scale. IM7/IIm7/lllm7/lVM7/Vdom7/VIm7/Vllm7-5.

(So C maj: Cmaj 7, D-7, E-7, Fmaj 7, G7, A-7, Bm7 flat 5).