Chords/Roman Numerals/Nashville/Modes

What's Hot
Hi Guys

Just a quick question regarding how people see and think about chords in modal keys. or if anyone has any inside knowledge on how the guys in Nashville would see this?

Say Am - Bm - D - Em or E7 (Dorian)

Would you look at this as IIm - IIIm - V - VI 

Or Im - IIm - IV - Vm or V7?

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Phil_aka_PipPhil_aka_Pip Frets: 9794
    Good question. Does the music have a generally Dorian feel, or is its most salient point the E7 - Am change suggesting the harmonic minor scale over that chord change? If it's your choice you could use both ...
    "Working" software has only unobserved bugs. (Parroty Error: Pieces of Nine! Pieces of Nine!)
    Seriously: If you value it, take/fetch it yourself
  • bloodandtearsbloodandtears Frets: 1646
    edited April 2018
    I am no expert but my thought would be...

Look at the chordal notes..  this leads me to G major (E minor)

So it would suggest to me the Key is E minor..

Thus your progression would be: iv-v-VII-i
    My trading feedback

is it crazy how saying sentences backwards creates backwards sentences saying how crazy it is?

I think you're right about G major, that's the same note set as A dorian or E aeolian. In the latter case, the D would have to be bVII rather than VI.
    "Working" software has only unobserved bugs. (Parroty Error: Pieces of Nine! Pieces of Nine!)
  • bloodandtearsbloodandtears Frets: 1646
    edited April 2018
    I think you're right about G major, that's the same note set as A dorian or E aeolian. In the latter case, the D would have to be bVII rather than VI.
    using this a reference (http://www.guitar-chords.org.uk/chords-key-e-minor.html)