Condenser Mic for digital recordings

What's Hot
I have been recording my own stuff for about six months now.  Ive got there by trial and error really.  I bought an M Audio 2x2 interface which has been good and record in Audacity.  Electric guitar is fine but vocals and acoustic guitar I have been recording via a cheap £25 Dynamic microphone and whilst its ok its not great.  A bit dead and thin.  I think I need a Condenser mic so Im looking for some recommendations that will improve my set up.   Someone sent me a link to the Rode Microphone NT1-A kit. www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=Rode+Microphone+NT1-A+Vocal+pack and I also read some great reviews for the MXL 3000 but dont think they are available in the UK.

The M Audio interface has 48v Phantom power I believe.

Budget as always is a problem and I Was hoping to pick something up off Ebay but was hoping £50-£120 mark.  Is that unrealistic?

Any recommendations appreciated.

Thanks
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• digitalscreamdigitalscream Frets: 26455
    The Rode NT1 is great for vocals, but there's something about the SE Electronics SE2000 which I prefer. I've also found that the SE2000 is a bit more detailed when using it on a guitar cab in conjunction with a dynamic (I use the Superlux PRA628 mk II, which is about £30 from Thomann).

The SE2000 seems to go for about £50 on average. Definitely worth a go!

If you fancy going stereo, you could also try the AKG C1000S (another personal favourite of mine).
    <space for hire>
  • I'm just gearing up to sell some recording kit...amongst it is a Rode NT1-a, AKG C1000s, Lexicon interface, various mic-preamps, etc.

Drop me a line if you're interested...or I could post here if you prefer ;)
  • barrydbarryd Frets: 25