Line 6 Helix HX effects unit leaked....

What's Hot

Comments

• CabicularCabicular Frets: 2214
    Cabicular said:
    A lot of it is highly subjective
    ive never heard a better Univibe, the chorus and flanger models are exactly what I’m looking for
    i like the reverbs and delays but full disclosure, I’m a rock guitarist so my needs are a lot simpler there
    the HX when I tried it didn’t noticeably colour the tone and drives and impedance work as you would expect
    I honestly can’t get a satisfying sound from the vibe. I must be doing something wrong
    It’s not a sound I like really but it feels authentic and easier to get something I can live with than most versions of it
    i have to have it before the drives though 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • LebarqueLebarque Frets: 3755
    Thanks for the feedback. Gonna have to try one of these
  • LebarqueLebarque Frets: 3755
    edited May 2018
    OK, so I went and snagged one this afternoon and have had a fiddle for an hour or two. AB'ing against some premium analog pedals, it doesn't quite compare, but it's 90% there. Impressive.

Even though many say it's intuitive, this old dinosaur still felt a bit 'death by digital menus' and the manual scared me. But to put it in context, I have not and probably will never own a Strymon pedal and prefer pedals with no more than three knobs! Shocking at 42! I think maybe the simple, analog thing is engrained in my soul.

The other thing that bothered me was the bypass tone. It's somewhat bright and harsh compared to plugging straight into your valve amp. I had better luck setting the input to 'line' rather than 'instrument'.