How many strats before you give up?

What's Hot
Hick81Hick81 Frets: 122
edited May 2018 in Guitar
I decided to log all the guitars I’ve ever owned since I started playing in 1996, roughly what they cost and what I sold them for. This was to make a point to my wife that guitars are a sound financial investments akin to long term ISA’s or London property.

£500 down over 22 years excluding the guitars I still own. 

In total 
3 LPs
3 Teles
2 335’s
5 Acoustics 
1 gretsch cg
1 vintage epi
and 10 strats 

When do I give up on trying to find a Strat I’ll keep for for than a year? 

Ive has JVs, AVRI, Nash, partscaster etc but never fall in love 
2reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• paulphoenixpaulphoenix Frets: 141
    ..didn't go well then.
    2reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • ElwoodElwood Frets: 452
    edited May 2018
    Have you made 3%p/a, after inflation, on any of your guitars?
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Hick81Hick81 Frets: 122
    It only posted half of the message, let me try and finish 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 71959
    edited May 2018
    I think I've only owned four Fender Strats... a '77, two USA Standards, and a Highway One. (Edit: and a JV Squier, which should also count.) I now have another one of what I started out with in the first place, an Aria RS, which is not quite a Strat but which I prefer, so I won't be buying another Strat.

Overall I have very rarely lost money on a guitar, because I almost never buy new and I try not to pay too much even second hand. The only one I can think of that I lost a lot on was my PRS Standard, which I bought new (even though discounted) and sold at quite a loss, but it had been my main working guitar for about seven years so I think I had my money's worth.