Are You Tone Deaf?

What's Hot

Comments

• CirrusCirrus Frets: 8481
    Sorry Dennis! If it's any consolation I'm nearly 29 and I can't follow conversation in noisy pubs that well any more, so it proves my critical bands theory to be total tosh!
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • :D

S'alright, I was only joking.

And not necesarily - I've never been able to follow conversation in a noisy pub, and as a student I was once fired as a barman because I kept having to ask the customers to repeat their orders. They all thought I was being a twat so eventually the boss got fed up and I got hoofed. Thing is, I was just trying to make sure I did my job properly by getting the right drinks, but if I'd known they thought I was a twat, I would actually have BEEN a twat - because most of the customers were, and they deserved some back! :D
    If you must have sex with a frog, wear a condom. If you want the frog to have fun, rib it.
  • digitalscreamdigitalscream Frets: 26450
    Cirrus said:
    Ladies and gentlemen, bow down before your new god;

Thank you for taking our Pitch Discrimination Test at http://musicianbrain.com/pitchtest.
    At 500 Hz you can reliably hear pitch differences of 0.453125 Hz, which means you did better than approximately 99.9% of people who took our test!

:-O
    Jeez, man - I was pretty proud of my 1.4375Hz result (91.4%). Then again, I do have pretty bad tinnitus, so it's pretty much a miracle I got that far.

100% on ChristophEar's test, though, which means I can no longer blame my lack of musicality on my ears. Bugger.
    <space for hire>
  • Drew_TNBDDrew_TNBD Frets: 22445
  • BasherBasher Frets: 1198
    I got 100% but have always considered myself tone deaf.
    I really can't sing a note in tune. I sound like a distressed goose or something.
    Presumably this means that while my ability to detect pitch is OK-ish, my ability to reproduce it vocally is what's really wrong.