Recording myself playing guitar, what to use ?

What's Hot
Complete newbie to this so please bear with me.
As the title suggests I want to do some basic recording of myself playing guitar, partly to have a reference to judge my own progress (only been playing 6 months) & partly to compare pickup swaps as I am upgrading the pups in some guitars.
I am just looking for a simple, easy to use, fairly cheap set up to do the above basics.
I have seen the Behringer U-PHORIA UMC202HD USB Audio Interface advertised for around £55, would that be suitable, is it easy to use ?
If so what would I need to go with the unit in terms of any extra hardware, cables etc ?
I take it that I would need some sort of software package also ?
All suggestions welcome.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• LegionreturnsLegionreturns Frets: 7965
    Get yourself the Focusrite Scarlet Solo. It's pretty much the cheapest, useable AI on the market, and popular for a reason. It'll also come with a DAW licence. 

My Trading Feedback    |    You Bring The Band

Just because you're paranoid, don't mean they're not after you
  • octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33725
    Avoid the Behringer.
    Focusrite entry level interfaces are fine though.

For progress recordings just use your phone and record using the video function.
  • soma1975soma1975 Frets: 6627
    I just bought a presonus iTwo for £100 and it came with a licence for Presonus Studio One 4, which is £85 on its own... 
    My Trade Feedback Thread is here

Been uploading old tracks I recorded ages ago and hopefully some new noodles here.
  • blobbblobb Frets: 2914
    Agree with @octatonic, video yourself.
    Feelin' Reelin' & Squeelin'
  • flying_pieflying_pie Frets: 1806