Guitarist looking for a bass

What's Hot

Comments

• BridgehouseBridgehouse Frets: 24579
    JezWynd said:
    After today's bass revelations for me
    Have you finally seen the light and renounced frets?

You're not helping. Desperately trying to tell myself this is a bad idea...

If that’s a bad idea then I’m a talented guitarist. I think fretless basses sound brilliant - my talent says otherwise.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • FunkfingersFunkfingers Frets: 14324
    edited July 2018
    vale said:
    you don't even have to learn chords.
    You are SO missing out...  go learn some bass chords, go on.. dare ya.. it's awesome...
    Alternatively, retune your E string down a tone to D. Immediately, your bottom three strings form a power chord that can be held with one finger (or, even, one thumb). 

fretless bass
    Yup. The DADG tuning, one finger, chord trick even works on fretless instruments.
    Be seeing you.
    vale said:
    you don't even have to learn chords.
    You are SO missing out...  go learn some bass chords, go on.. dare ya.. it's awesome...
    Alternatively, retune your E string down a tone to D. Immediately, your bottom three strings form a power chord that can be held with one finger (or, even, one thumb). 

fretless bass
    Yup. The DADG tuning, one finger, chord trick even works on fretless instruments.

But power chords are seldom used in my usual German oompah band setting..
    Root 'n' fifth stuff, huh?

If you adopted a touchboard-style hammer-on/pull-off playing technique for your left hand, it would leave your right arm free for more important activities. 
    Be seeing you.
    Root 'n' fifth stuff, huh?

If you adopted a touchboard-style hammer-on/pull-off playing technique for your left hand, it would leave your right arm free for more important activities. 
    Yes. The right hand is for a 2 litre stein of  Rauchbier and the lifting of a big fat sausage