A question to teachers..

What's Hot
LuttiSLuttiS Frets: 2243
I've been playing for many years, self taught, mainly a rhythm player but have also do a bit of lead etc. 

I decided to get some lessons a while ago because i was aware that a lot of my technique was sloppy and in an effort to get back into regular practice (effectively a 2 year child related break), as well as improve my improvisation (my weakest bit) and get some theory/scales etc. i.e.. the boring bits :)
The teachers is a really nice chap, has been successful teaching for a long time, and really knows his stuff.

I've had three lessons so far, and I've come out of the last one quite un-enthused. So i've wondering if it's me just being a dick about the "boring" bits or maybe teaching style just not for me, so i'd just like your take on things..

Lessons are blues based even though i'm mainly a rock guitarist but always had a soft spot for blues, i figured that blues would be a good starting point and i would be able to apply to most aspects of my playing. As i said, it's technique, theory and direction i'm after...

First lesson, introductions, seeing where we are, 12 bar in G, Blues scale in Gm, arpeggios in G/C/D..  that was good, got straight in with theory, scales and everything i've avoided in life.

2nd lesson, carrying on here, shapes on the neck, finding roots, not much me playing, mainly him showing concepts. Given a backing track to play over.

3rd lesson, fixed my vibrato, Me playing for a minute over track, then him playing for a while. Lets Jam! 2 minutes of me playing one note while he plays over it. Let in on a secret that most teachers don't teach..
Music swings, when bands play scales they don't do it as robots playing the scale to a metronome, its got feels..