PRS SE Disappointment?

What's Hot
DcotorstewieDcotorstewie Frets: 35
edited July 2018 in Guitar
Evening all, new chap here. I wonder if anyone else has had a similar let down: for ages I wanted a PRS SE Semi Hollow - just because the thing looked SO good, and of course PRS's reputation. When my Sisters decided I should have a birthday present, I got one - a 2008 model. 
I've been playing ( VERY BADLY ) for about ten years, and only recently decided to take it seriously ( I am a drummer by trade) I don't have a great deal of experience with anything other than entry level to lower-mid range gear. ( My favourite previous guitar being an Epiphone Nighthawk Reissue - lovely) 
I just can't get my head around this thing: it looks and feels wonderful, but when I play it my already fumbly fingers are all over the place. I've tried two gauges of strings, it's been well set up, it is comfortable playing standing or sitting. 
I just don't like playing it. 
Anyone else had this experience? 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• LegionreturnsLegionreturns Frets: 7965
    I think the issue (and also, virtue) of a PRS, is that they're designed to give you a relatively neutral, but highly customizable sound. 

My Trading Feedback    |    You Bring The Band

Just because you're paranoid, don't mean they're not after you
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • sweepysweepy Frets: 4159
    Welcome to the search for “the guitar”, I’d try out as many different types as possible, LP, Strats, Teles etc you might find something that feels right to you  
  • BridgehouseBridgehouse Frets: 24579
    Sounds like it might be Fretboard radius and nut width, and the fret sizes that might be tripping you up. 
  • darthed1981darthed1981 Frets: 11674
    Sometimes you can sit and think "this is a great guitar" and just not like the thing at all.