Mods for Jazzmaster HH (MIM)

What's Hot
I'll be the owner of one of these shortly. I've read a lot of criticism online about these, mainly to do with the fact there are humbuckers in a Jazzmaster.

I had a Blacktop Jaguar which is a great workhorse. I just found the shorter scale a bit odd to deal with, and noticeable around the 7th fret in particular. Anyways, this Jazzmaster should satisfy my humbucking needs. 

Well that'll suit me fine. I have a standard CIJ Jazzmaster, and love the feel of it, so something with a similar feel, but with humbuckers will give me my humbucking kick.

I can't afford a Lee Ranaldo sig! Based on my own one, it looks like I'll have to change the bridge on the HH one. I put a tuneomatic into my CIJ one, and it seems to have done the trick. So that will be one thing I'll look at.

The coil splitting option in the HH model isn't something I'll use a whole lot, so might replace the pickups eventually. Maybe a tip to wide range humbuckers, ala Ranaldo's Jazzblaster.

I've seen Creamerys recommended.

Any other Jazzmaster HH players here?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• MossMoss Frets: 2409
    Mojo do humbucker sized Wide Ranges so you don't have to rout the body to fit them - http://www.mojopickups.co.uk/product/humbucker-sized-wide-range-humbucker/
    Stop crying, start buying
  • Creed_ClicksCreed_Clicks Frets: 1384
    edited August 2015
    Are these similar to P90s then? They're not exactly humbuckers?

Hmmm, I'm probably best steering clear and just going at the bridge!
  • meltedbuzzboxmeltedbuzzbox Frets: 10337
    putting a TOM on a CIJ Jazzmaster makes me a sad panda...