Jam making gear

What's Hot
SnagsSnags Frets: 5326
Looking ahead to next weekend ... how much gubbins is it sensible to bring?

Guitars are a given, and I'll probably bring a cut-down pedal board. But what's the norm on the rest - stands, cables, amps etc.? Are there amps on site in all the rooms, or just the recording one? If it's bring-an-amp how raucous is it likely to get (5W Lionheart or 30W LCII?) etc.

Be gentle with me, it's my first time darling.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• StuckfastStuckfast Frets: 2393
    I thought this was going to be a thread about Kilner jars and funnels.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • LuttiSLuttiS Frets: 2243
    The trick is not to over boil it when making jam... 

There are amps on site, but a few people bought additionals last time and there seemed to be enough. I'd say by all means bring one, as part of the weekend is to have a gander/ try out different gear :) 
    The main recording room had a pretty solid backline that wasn't changed though, so amp would be jam rooms only mainly.

As for power, if it can keep up with a drum kit then sure should be fine. I bought a mini pedal board last time, but tbh, i don't think i actually used it except for the tuner... was all over the place so was basically plug & play where ever :)
  • mrkbmrkb Frets: 6637

I always take enough to be self sufficient - guitar - GUITAR STAND!!! - pedal board - cables, etc. I plug my AX8 into the PA though. That way I can join a jam or practice alone as needed. Also important to bring food/drinks - its a bit of a walk to the supermarket otherwise, and time during the day is best spend playing. 

Make sure you have a good guitar stand (or keep it in its case) - people are careful, but lazily propped up guitars against walls are always a risk. 

Karma......
    Ebay mark7777_1
  • SnagsSnags Frets: 5326