Korg Volca Series

What's Hot
Hey guys

Thinking about moving into some electro/synth type directions, mainly just for messing around at home and maybe for accompanying/recording alongside my guitar. 

The Korg Volca series appeals on lots of levels and tbh the keys/bass/beats all appeal in slightly different ways. 

Anyone got one that they want to comment on, particularly for newbies? 
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• WazmeisterWazmeister Frets: 9445
    Mate, Im a newbie too in this field, and I tried the Volca.
    Feels a bit like a toy, but great value for money especially used...

My brief journey so far has taken me into more expensive (surprise surprise) territory, and I have settled on the following;

1.) Teenage Engineering OP-1
    A stunning and addictive and fun instrument. Truly portable with a HUGE battery life (months). Built like a tank

2.) Elektron Digitakt/Digitone
    If there is a sound in your head, its in one of these. 
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • TeetonetalTeetonetal Frets: 7801
    I got the beats one from a raffle. It's neat but limited. Annoying is the small output jack. Honestly I'd go for a minibrute, korg monosynth or a behringer model D for not uch more.
  • VJIvesVJIves Frets: 466
    I have the Volca Sample and it is awesome. Really simple to use even if (like me) you're new to the concept. Considering getting the FM next.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • UnclePsychosisUnclePsychosis Frets: 12880
    Cheers guys. I think I'm going to hold off getting one just now but purely because I've spent an obscene amount on pedals recently. Will pick up a Beats later in the year I reckon. 

Cheers
  • mbembe Frets: 1840
    My Keys and Bass are fab. I would like the FM but not too keen on the Beats. Discontinued Akai Tomcat is a good cheap alternative for analog drums.
  • Shark_EyesShark_Eyes Frets: 373