Thinking about trying my first amp build. Completely new to this, any tips?

What's Hot
Hi everyone,

As some of you may know I've been in the market for a blackface amp of some sort, and was thinking about going for a Princeton. I also considered getting one made by one of the great uk builders about.

But then I thought, I have a fair bit of time coming up later this month where I'll be able to really give it a go, maybe I should jump in and take a chance on building one. As a complete beginner though, a Princeton looks pretty complicated which was putting me off!

I was then speaking to a friend of mine who has an MSC in physics, who was excited to help out on the project so that we would do it together, which has pushed me to thinking this may actually be viable. 

We are currently looking to get a Modulus Princeton Reverb Kit and go from there. The circuit on their website looks pretty low resolution, so I have found this one (below) which I was thinking of using - is this sensible?

That said, I myself am still a complete beginner, and would try much appreciate any tips or advice that you have?

I have a couple of questions to get started also...

1) I currently only have a soldering iron, what other tools will I actually need?
2) what is the best solder to actually use for a project like this?
3) Once completed, I think it would probably be a good idea to get a tech to give it a look over just incase there are any obvious issues. What should I expect to pay for such a service - if such a thing even exists!

Many thanks in advance for any thoughts or comments you may have!

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• WezVWezV Frets: 16547
    edited August 2018
    i notice stew-mac have started doing some amp kits

May not be what you are after, but the benefit of this is some really detailed instructions that take you through the process - designed for someone new to it.

Worth a read