How to learn complicated chord progressions.

What's Hot
I have posted this, previously, on an other guitar forum. I am a rhythm guitarist who has problems learning complicated chord progressions. Although I have been playing guitar for over 50 years I am not a natural musician. I don't always hear a tune in my head, and therefore prefer playing with other musicians or with backing tracks.
Give me a chord sheet and I have no problems. I know when to change chords and I know the chords I need to play, I just have difficulty learning complicated chord patterns that don't just repeat.
How would you guys go about learning a piece so you can play it without having it written down in front of you?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Repetition 
  • slackerslacker Frets: 2215
    I just keep playing them over and over with the chart sometimes it takes a long time.

Try learning the following...

Arnold lane
    Calling occupants of interplanetary craft
    Lithium
    My name is Jack
    I'm only sleeping

And if you are feeling really masochistic

Birdhouse in your soul

• FreebirdFreebird Frets: 5821
    edited September 2018
    Memorize the root notes or the relative notation?
    If we are not ashamed to think it, we should not be ashamed to say it.
  • Playing in a band helps as you don't often see originals bands with sheet music on stands when they perform.

Break down the sections if its a song, e.g verse is an 8 bar pattern with 2 x 4 chords etc. Chorus, etc etc. Then play them back-to-back to see if you can remember it all. Most of it muscle memory and repetition, as already mentioned above.
  • I have it on good authority the trick to memorising anything is to practise getting it out of memory rather than putting it into memory over and over again. So reading the charts helps a lot less than testing yourself on them, even if you fail the test very badly at first.