playing well out of the comfort zone

What's Hot
ClarkyClarky Frets: 3261
edited September 2018 in Technique
note sure if this is a making music thing or a technique thing..
I'm guessing a bit of both...
so here goes...

we all have our native styles.. places where we are really comfy to play and write
those of you that know me will know that as a guitarist I'm most happy riffing and shredding
rock and metal from the old stuff to the new.. the shreddy Van Halen / Satch / Vai / neo-classical Malmsteeny style..
and of course my main guitar job is prog rock.. 
those of you that know me really well would know that I adore funk and blues too

as a writer composer I'll work in all the styles above plus my other main music job is movie trailer  / media music composition..
this is mostly hybrid orchestral / choral stuff with synths and huge drums..
these guys do occasionally take me away from the orchestral stuff though..
not so long ago I have to do a rock car chase thing [which was a major home game] and also quite recently I did an authentic swamp blues thing for them [which was pure joy for me]

the trailer / media music house I work for called today and threw in a proper curve ball..
Rockabilly.. I have never played this before.. not even for fun..
even better... they want 3 pieces by Nov 19th [which is fkn nuts]

so.. I have to learn a style well enough to compose it and play it pretty convincingly..
and it is seriously out of the ol' comfy zone in every sense
it's a major away game for me

do you guys spend much time out of the comfort zone??

play every note as if it were your first
0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments