I only ever do the same things...how do I get better?

What's Hot
GodlykepowerGodlykepower Frets: 174
edited October 2018 in Theory
I’m completely self-taught, and not bad at doing what I can do...but the problem is, I have no real idea what I’m actually doing.

I know enough chords to get by, but end up playing the same ones in a couple of different positions, I only really know one or two of the the same old scales (blues and pentatonic) for improvisation, in the same fingering patterns...but I mainly just make stuff up as I go along - I’ll play random notes and see what happens, and I’ll improvise lead guitar with random notes - sometimes it’s hit and sometimes it’s a miss.

Basically, I feel stuck in a rut.

I’d like to be a better guitarist...know more chords, learn some more useful scales and be able to play them in different patterns, have a better understanding of theory etc.

I don’t want to take any exams, nor do I want a teacher...I want to do it on my own, at my pace.
I have played with other people before which was fun, but I have no intention of joining a band...I just want to be better and more diverse. I’m only interested in blues and rock, with a bit of metal for good measure, and would like to be more diverse across those genres.

What do you suggest I do?
I don’t have a gambling problem, I’m winning, and winning is not a problem for me. That’s like saying that Iron Maiden have an awesomeness problem.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• vizviz Frets: 10643
    edited October 2018
    Learn the superlocrian scale over the V chord if you haven’t already. It’ll open a whole new palette of sound to you 
    Roland said: Scales are primarily a tool for categorising knowledge, not a rule for what can or cannot be played.
    Supportact said: [my style is] probably more an accumulation of limitations and bad habits than a 'style'.
  • jrc2806jrc2806 Frets: 64