What 2x12

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• Rowby1Rowby1 Frets: 1258
    Or a diagonal 2x12. I have an MJW one with Creamback 65s in and it works really well. The diagonal arrangement means it looks right (square front like a 4x12) and dispersion is very good too. If I were you I’d get Zilla to build you one. Zilla are great to deal with, I have a 1x12 of theirs too.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • dariusdarius Frets: 619

Is there a simple cheatsheet in existence for how all the speaker variants compare and how to choose.

Greenbacks, Creambacks, V30, G12M, Vintage, Heritage blah blah.

What's the 'normal' one for 'normal' people?

• ICBMICBM Frets: 71951
    If it’s a 2x12” you can’t go wrong with one each of the Creamback G12M-65 and G12H-75. It’s just a fantastic-sounding combination and also has enough power handling for almost any amp. In a vertical cab put the 65 at the top.

Basically the Creambacks are higher-rated versions of the classic G12M-25 Greenback and G12H-30, but they’re also slightly tighter with less tendency to flap out on low frequencies, and slightly darker which makes them more suitable for heavier modern sounds as well as more blues/classic rock.

I think they’re the best-sounding all-round speakers Celestion have ever made even individually, but the combination of the two is simply outstanding.

Despite the name the Vintage 30 is more of a dedicated hard rock speaker. It also pairs well with a Classic Lead 80 or a G12T-75 for modern rock/metal.

Other opinions are available...

"Take these three items, some WD-40, a vise grip, and a roll of duct tape. Any man worth his salt can fix almost any problem with this stuff alone." - Walt Kowalski

"Just because I don't care, doesn't mean I don't understand." - Homer Simpson

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • TTBZTTBZ Frets: 2873
    edited October 2018