DAWs, DI's, IR's, Re-Amping etc

What's Hot

I'm a relative noob to recording. I do it purely for fun and generally to make objective comparisons between different pieces of gear I swap out etc.

At the moment, it's been a Blue Snowball condenser Mic straight into the laptop via USB and Audacity. Not ideal I know, and while the results haven't been horrific, it seems there's easier way and less limited ways of doing things.

So this 2 Notes Torpedo Reload, seems great, been looking at that, and a Focusrite Scarlet 2i4, plus IR's for speakers, cabs and mics. Also Downloaded cakewalk and am beginning to mess with it.

Setting aside the 2 Notes, I'm presuming there's a way to do the whole DI re-amp thing whilst listening to what you're recording as you're playing it live through the amp and your physical cab. then you can re-amp whatever you play back through the amp and use the IR's for cabs and mics. 2 Notes clearly didn't invent the idea of Re-Amping.

So is there a setup of individual components that would do all of the above as integrally and elegantly as the 2 Notes Reload in a mancave setup that would cost less than the 2 Notes?

I Ask because I already have an attenuator, and plan to get a London Power power scaling module installed at some point, in either case, the attenuation of the Reload is redundant.

As far as i can see/understand (which isn't lots) I would need an interface with Line Level in's and outs (2i4), a DI with passthrough for the front end of the amp to record the direct signal from the instrument for re-amping, some kind of DI with pass though to put between the Amp and Speakers to get the amplified signal to which IR's would be applied, and a re-amping box (is that a thing?) to send the direct recorded guitar signal back to the amp. 

Educate me please, if you have the time and inclination.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• FretwiredFretwired Frets: 24601