Blackstar Series One Bias Advice Required.

I need to change the power valves (4 x KT88) on my Blackstar Series One 200w.   I've never done this before, but I am an electronics technician.  I have biased transistor based amp circuits, quite a while ago, so I suspect the principles are the same but have their own peculiarities.

Thanks for any practical advice offered.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Wow you have the 200w jobbie?

I hear the volume on that thing is biblical. 
    The Bigsby was the first successful design of what is now called a whammy bar or tremolo arm, although vibrato is the technically correct term for the musical effect it produces. In standard usage, tremolo is a rapid fluctuation of the volume of a note, while vibrato is a fluctuation in pitch. The origin of this nonstandard usage of the term by electric guitarists is attributed to Leo Fender, who also used the term “vibrato” to refer to what is really a tremolo effect.
  • impmannimpmann Frets: 12641
    Talk to Phil at Blackstar Service.

Be careful there’s 700v flying about in there...
    Never Ever Bloody Anything Ever.

• 0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • ecc83ecc83 Frets: 1589
    Hi Chris. I generally give a straight "howtododis" for B's amps but in this case , Impmann has it. The voltages inside a 200 are seriously lethal. Yes, you are an electronics tech but NOT a valve amp tech or you wouldn't be asking?  There are two other factors.
    1) I would have to look up the procedure since I cannot recall where you set the power control.
    2) There are some shit KT88s about. I had a set that lasted all of an hour (at 100W pink noise) No names but  a precious stone not diamond! Phil will know what to fit.  They are not cheap.

If you are REALLY determined to do it, PM me. I am not putting this into the public domain.

Dave.