How to apprach a potentially awkward subject with other guitarist?

What's Hot

Comments

• It's got to be addressed. I'd tread carefully without bullshitting him. As has been said bands that don't talk about HOW to improve...don't improve. It means everyone has to open their ears and keep their egos in check. Difficult eh? 
    I've been on both ends of this conversation but only realised how important it is to be able to give feedback AND take it on the chin when I started playing with pros. A real eye-opener, but you don't half improve fast. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • horsehorse Frets: 1562
    I think you've sometimes got to get to know people a bit before you can know how best to try and influence. It may be that he won't want to listen, and if he is lead vocals then you might have to decide if you'd rather bite your tongue or risk no longer being in the band - All depends if that would bother you or not.

Usually I can tell if somebody is going to be able to cope with constructive criticism or not once I know them. If they can't then I'll find it difficult to be involved if there's something that bugs me, and would only carry on if I was really really keen.
  • prowlaprowla Frets: 4896
    A long lead or wireless lets you take a stroll out onto the floor and hear the sound...
  • GulliverGulliver Frets: 848
    Help him set up his gear, then turn down the bass when he's not looking
    1reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • SporkySporky Frets: 27574
    Hattigol said:
    Have sex with his girlfriend. He'll soon be gone.
    Actually his wife is gorgeous so...........
    So shag her too. 

And him, if necessary. 

No point being squeamish. 
    "[Sporky] brings a certain vibe and dignity to the forum."
    5reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • Start using an even more extreme version of his sound - and when he mentions it, say ‘You started it’.