Current gig setup for small venues

What's Hot
carloscarlos Frets: 3426
edited January 2019 in Amps
Feel free to laugh at my tiny £200 (including cab) amp, but I played tonight for 40 people at the Poetry Cafe in Covent Garden* and I had the thing at less than 9 o'clock on the volume and it was close to being too loud for the venue. How can it be so tiny and so loud?

It sounds brilliant, by the way. It's missing fx send and return and it has no onboard reverb and just high and low knobs but there's only so much you can fit, I guess. I'd describe the sound as Fender tube clean. Not exaggerating on the tube bit either as the ZT Lunchbox sounds very solid state by comparison.

If it fits your music, then I heartily recommend this amp. I haven't tried the other versions as my intention was always to do the grit through pedals anyway.

* - I guess that means I'm a West End musician now?
BTW, I bought the guitar in this forum from @prudd ;
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• jdgmjdgm Frets: 850
    Congrats on the gig. What sort of stuff are you playing?
    I can't quite see what the guitar is but it looks very nice indeed.
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • carloscarlos Frets: 3426
    jdgm said:
    Congrats on the gig. What sort of stuff are you playing?
    I can't quite see what the guitar is but it looks very nice indeed.
    Thanks. I'm doing backing music for a poet. It goes from classical pieces adapted for improvising over, to a little bit of jazz and some stoner/doom metal riffing.
    The guitar is a Peerless Manhattan.
  • p90foolp90fool Frets: 31368
    Nice one. 
    My experience of poetry cafes is that they ALL need more stoner/doom metal riffing. 
    5reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 6reaction image Wisdom
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 71960
    carlos said:

How can it be so tiny and so loud?