Newbie to electrics really struggling

What's Hot
Hi guys, I have been playing acoustic for around 4 months (also had a brief time with guitars around 10 years ago) I am at a stage where my fingers no longer hurt and I know most of my basic chords and have no real trouble switching between them. I decided I would like to try out electric so I bought an amp used (Carlsbro stingray super) I have always been happy with my acoustics sounds, I have a Cort ad 810 ns Dreadnought and a Crafter fsg-250e electro acoustic but I hate the sound I get from plugging in the Crafter, I am struggling after many hours to find a sound I like. I have also been through a few electric guitars with the same problem, a Squier Bullet, an old Columbus LP, A Squire strat all of which are gone now and I currently have a Stagg LP and a Samick Avion Av1. 
I think it's time I gave up changing gear to get a sound I like and accept its myself that is the weakest link here. I don't want to go spending more on gear with the same result so was wondering what steps I should take from here? Any advise appreciated as I don't want to just give up. Thanks for reading
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

1. How do you go about setting your amp?
    2. What pickup do you favour on you guitar? 
    3. What sound (or influences) are you going for
    My muse is not a horse and art is not a race.
  • I have always started from everything on 5 and tweaked from there, I don't play with the volume on too high as I am a bit embarrassed for the neighbours to hear me as I am not very good. I don't really have any preference on neck vs bridge, I don't think I know enough to discern which is the right sound for what I am playing. I like a lot of music, to name a few,  Led zeppelin, Pink Floyd, The Doors, Eric Clapton, The Eagles to more modern stuff like the Killers and Snow Patrol so quite varied. I have also been Playing (quite Badly) 12 Bar Blues lately which I really enjoy.