Newbie to electrics really struggling

What's Hot
1235»

Comments

• Yeah we have to pay for the use of the hall but don't worry about that the first time you come.

Equipment wise. If you bring an acoustic you won't be able to hear yourself! I'd recommend an amp of 10watts plus. Most people bring amps around 20watts, usually a small combo something like a fender blues junior or 30 watt Roland cube.

I of course bring a 50w Marshall regularly, but I do know what the volume knob is for!

A tuner is a pretty good idea too.
    A notepad and pen is good for writing down the chord progressions.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • SkodadadSkodadad Frets: 509
    edited September 2015
    I picked up the Squier Strat today, feels nice but was filthy and poorly setup (not that I'm an expert) stripped it all down and cleaned it all and it certainly sounds OK to my ears. Followed a few guides for setting intonation and string height adjustment and pretty pleased with it. Not sure if it's one of the good ones but probably good enough for me.

0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • HAL9000HAL9000 Frets: 9551
    One more question @Flanging_Fred...

Could you confirm that the thing at Northgate Communitty Centre is definitely Tuesday nights? This seems to indicate Wednesday.
    I play guitar because I enjoy it rather than because I’m any good at it
  • Flanging_FredFlanging_Fred Frets: 3008
    edited September 2015
    Yup, definitely Tuesday night. That list is out of date AND incorrect! The Tanners arms in Horsham has shut down now, at least temporarily. The 12 bar has been Tuesday's for At least 10 years now.
    @skodadad - I've just PM'd you
  • NiteflyNitefly Frets: 4902
    What a good thread - lots of encouragement for you, @skodadad !