Sire Marcus Miller V7

What's Hot
KebabkidKebabkid Frets: 3301
edited June 2017 in Bass
Anyone looking for a new bass/jazz bass should take a look at one of these.

Fabulous and versatile-sounding bass that punches (and slaps) well above its' weight for under £300!

I've just nabbed one and can't recommend them enough.

http://www.thomann.de/gb/marcus_miller_v7_alder_4_awh.htm

0reaction image LOL 1reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• Taking a punt on one as my first proper bass...I hope they live up to the hype. Though being a noob I won't be able to tell anyway!
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • KebabkidKebabkid Frets: 3301
    edited November 2015
    @Moe_Zambeek - if you're a guitarist first and foremost, the neck won't present you with a problem as it's slim,very comfortable and has a smooth feel - it's a joy to play. The action straight out of the box was good too and I couldn't believe it was in tune despite being shipped from Germany!

I'd try it first in passive mode (switch up towards you) and get used to the tones that way as you just have the first/nearest control to you which is a concentric/stacked control being the volume and tone. The 2nd control is the balance between the 2 pickups and there's an indent.

The final controls are purely for the active side and don't put these on full as it's an extremely powerful system. Depending on what you're running this through, and if you are a noob, you might not have a sub-woofer system or even a dedicated bass amp, just be careful but there are some sweet tones to be found when using the various mid controls.

The active preamp (18V) is powered by 2 X 9V batteries and they're supplied with the bass and already installed.

Also supplied are some allen keys and chrome pickup rest.

Let us know how you get on and this thing kills Fender Squiers, MIM and MIJ and even some US ones. For me, only Spector Euros have come close but they cost a good deal more.