Midi footswitches?

the_jaffathe_jaffa Frets: 1927
Hello,

Glad I've found this place after suffering withdrawal symptoms for the last month of BR being down.

I've got an Alesis Midiverb 2 that I use with my guitar as a reverb unit but want to use some sort of midi footswitch to change patches without having to input them manually on the unit.  Only trouble is, I've had absolutely nothing to do with Midi at all and don't know what to look for.

I'd like to keep it relatively cheap, small and simple but don't know whether that is even possible.

Can anyone help with any suggestions?

Cheers
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• trolleytrolley Frets: 89
    I have a Behringer FCB 1010. Cheap(ish) & cheerful.
    Prone to odd things - but I can't swear it isn't me, since I've never used MIDI before
  • Si_Si_ Frets: 384
    edited August 2013
    I've had an FCB1010 in the past and hated it, difficult to program, too large, and just felt cheap.

Look for a Peak midi controller, you can buy them direct from the manufacturer and there excellent..

• the_jaffathe_jaffa Frets: 1927
    Cheers, that Behringer one looks way too big for me really and I have no need for the expression pedals.  Doesn't seem that cheap either really.

That Peak one looks a lot lot more like it.

The other one I've just seen is the Midi Mouse.  Anyone got any thoughts on them or other suggestions?
  • Drew_TNBDDrew_TNBD Frets: 22446
    I'd go for a Midi Moose if all you need is program changes.
  • the_jaffathe_jaffa Frets: 1927
    edited August 2013
    Moose rather than Mouse?

Do these things just plug and play or is it likely to be more complicated than that?  As I mentioned, I've no experience of midi at all.  I basically want it to be able to change the patch on the fly, so I guess I use the switch to line up the next patch and then hit go when I want the swap.  Is that right or am I way wide of the mark?