Home Brewing (Complete Noob)

What's Hot
duotoneduotone Frets: 979
A few friends were wondering what to get me for my birthday later this month & the first thing I thought of was having a go at Home Brewing.  I think it would be fantastic to make a Hoegaarden style beer or a nice black lager or porter for a fraction of the cost of buying it in pubs.

Trouble is I know nothing about it...so this is where you lot come in!  Can anyone point me in the right direction? Should I begin with a starter kit like this? https://www.home-brew-online.com/starter-kits-c47/festival-micro-brewery-with-bottles-kit-pride-of-london-porter-p2604  or am I better off looking at something/somewhere else?
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• roundthebendroundthebend Frets: 1137
    I've done brewing from kits for a few years. It's pretty easy and results can be good. I was advised what equipment to buy by an ex-forum member, coincidentally!

That kit looks like a good starting point. It's almost exactly what I got except I bought everything separately. The only thing I can think of extra is a second fermenting barrel and siphon. You do the fermenting in one, with the airlock lid, then you siphon into the other barrel with the bottling stick. This makes it easier to mix in your secondary fermenting sugar (gives the beer a fix in the bottle) and also helps avoid sediment in your bottles.

You can buy a Young's fermenting bucket for about £15.
  • DodgeDodge Frets: 1435
    edited March 2020
    I bought one of these:

https://www.brewuk.co.uk/stove-toppers-small-batch-starter-kit.html