Load of Nonsense?

What's Hot
So - I am going to make use of this time to put new pups in one of them. 
It's a T386 form Eastman  - really like it. 

Some people say - upgrade the electronics, the pots, the switches, the caps etc. CTS pots. Orange Drop caps. braided wire, switchcraft etc etc etc.

Here's my question. I used to be an electronics engineer many moons ago. I am really struggling to believe that any of that stuff makes any difference at all to what the thing sounds like. At the frequencies involved? If this was a high-frequency low voltage system then - yes - all of that is going to make some difference at some point - yip, you'd be over all of that. But at audio frequencies?

If you're making high-end audio equipment - you'll pay a fortune for customized, precision electronics - for the accuracy, the form factor, the aesthetic and the marketing bumpf that you can claim. But we are talking about Alpha pots (£0.50 at medium volume) or CTS pots (£1.05 at medium volume). What difference are you hearing? Don't get me wrong - I've done it myself - top end caps, poured over taper profiles.

Other than mechanical reliability is anybody genuinely 'hearing' any difference from slightly more expensive electronics? I am happy to be convinced - I'll go for it - but deep in the cockles of my rational side, it just doesn't seem plausible.

Anybody got a story or an argument in favour of upgrading the electronics, other than the pups?

Had to hold that there to go and clap the NHS workers. Thanks to any NHS guitar players folks!

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• TeyeplayerTeyeplayer Frets: 3132
    Can’t comment on the variation between components, but I’m pretty sure Eastman use cts pots and orange drop caps, they know what their market want in a guitar and usually try to meet it.