Acoustic guitar sounds bad

What's Hot
kompass123kompass123 Frets: 0
edited April 2020 in Acoustics
Hi all,
I am a Newbie here (so go easy on me)
Recently bought an acoustic guitar of my friend and have begun to learn basics. 
However, it sounds a twangy and gives a lot of feedback.
I had a closer look and the part of the strings that rest on the Bridge Saddle is breaking apart.
Just wondering if that could be the problem, or it could be something else.
Any help would be much appreciated.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/u79czqtgy8tlul2/IMG_20200424_180732743.jpg?dl=0
I have attached links to photo of the strings below.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/u79czqtgy8tlul2/IMG_20200424_180732743.jpg?dl=0
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• BrizeBrize Frets: 5670
    Yes, the strings are shot and you also have three nylon strings on there. In short, you need a new set of strings before anything else.
  • It looks like:
    1.  The strings are worn And incorrectly fitted
    2. You need a new set of strings
    3. They need to be fitted properly (because this strings aren’t)
    4. From l to r in your photo you should start with the thickest wirewound string at the left and move ast the thickness of the string diminishes to the thinnest non wire wound string at the right hand side
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 74391
    edited April 2020
    Yes, that's a newbie mistake - although a totally forgivable one so don't be too embarrassed about it!

The guitar is a steel-string guitar, and it has a set of nylon strings on it - they are also fitted in the wrong order .

You need a set of steel strings, with bronze windings - if you're a beginner, I would recommend a set of 10 gauge (extra light) for now, they'll be easier on your fingers. If you need help with fitting them, don't be afraid to ask again, it's not totally intuitive if you've never done it before.