any advice as to starting to understand synths(korg volca fm incoming).

i am a complete novice when it comes to anything synth,but have wanted a synth for a while now.

i just ordered a korg volca fm synth today from amazon as i heard a lot of good things about them (a full on synth at a price i could afford,also love brian eno and know he loves the dx7).

not being brian eno (or very bright/musically gifted) where the hell should i begin with trying to understand how to use it? the videos i have watched on yt about the korg sound like an algebra test lol.

is there any advice you can offer an idiot as to where to begin with synths and how to begin to get to grips with understanding how to use the volca fm in numpty speak if possible.

thanks in advance :-)

ps i love all types of synth music from erasure to nin and ambient soundscapes/brian eno,vangelis etc.

pps am willing to wear a cape if it helps.

i like cake :-) here's my youtube channel   https://www.youtube.com/user/racefaceec90 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• goldtopgoldtop Frets: 6101
    Well, FM's a weird one to start with. It always seemed a bit more mathematical than general subtractive synthesis to me, so your "algebra" quip sounds about right. :)

There will certainly be some very good FM synthesis tutorials on YT.

I downloaded an iPad app that was supposed to teach me, but I never really got anywhere musical with it. Confess that I also used the FM side of the Yamaha Montage as a preset machine, too. :( But I do fiddle with the FM side of the Nord Lead 3 from time to time. Bit hit-n-miss for my skillset.

• UnclePsychosisUnclePsychosis Frets: 12879
    The Volca FM uses FM Synthesis which is quite complicated to understand in comparison to something like Subtractive or Additive Synthesis. The Volca Keys is a lot easier to understand but sounds completely different to an FM synth.