A Lesson On Applying Triads (Rhythm Changes)

BradBrad Frets: 659
edited July 2020 in Technique
Thought I’d make a tentative foray into the world of YouTube video lessons... massive props to those folk who make it look so easy and slick!

So it’s a lesson about triads/arpeggios and how I like to approach them and hopefully make them sound even slightly musical (guess that’s in the ear of the beholder!) I’ve used Rhythm Changes as a vehicle for it, but the principles apply regardless of the tune or genre. It’s not a beginners lesson by any stretch, so some prior understanding of triads will be beneficial, but not essential. 

I’m a little hamstrung by where I can film at the moment and a few other factors too, but hopefully the info comes across and someone might find it useful. It is incredibly easy to go down a rabbit hole and really waffle, it could have been at least twice the length easily, as I’m not very good at talking quickly haha.

Any thoughts good or bad, are more than welcome. 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• chotu495chotu495 Frets: 356
    I really enjoyed the playing. Not really my kind of thing, but will try it. 

I’m watching on an ipad, and noticed that your voice levels are low compared to the guitar. It may be you cant easily resolve this, but if you can get the two levels closer, that’d be helpful. 

Tab is always really useful for us learners, so thanks for including that.

You’ve made me pick up a guitar to try it, so its a thumbs up from me  :)
  • stratman3142stratman3142 Frets: 2196
    edited July 2020
    I agree with what @chotu495 ;said

The voice from 0:42 is very quiet compared to the intro playing. The level comes up for the musical explanations from 2:44 but it's still lower than the intro playing.

An interesting demonstration of musically applying triads.

It's not a competition.
  • BradBrad Frets: 659
    edited July 2020