Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

Become a Subscriber!

Subscribe to our Patreon, and get image uploads with no ads on the site!

Read more...

Maths dudes: what level of maths is this?

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• sgosden said:
    mrkb said:
    i - ah imaginary numbers, the square root of -1.
    I did that as part of my BTEC HNC and then my BEng. Ive never used it since, but it had its application in electronics I think.
    Yup. Did it all in engineering HNC . Never used it in 8 years of practical engineering. 
    It's popped up again now I'm doing degree. 
    We all look forward to never using it again

FTFY
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 1reaction image Wisdom
  • crunchmancrunchman Frets: 11446
    edited September 2020
    Aside from adding ups take aways and the odd multiplication in 30 years as a doctor i have never really used maths at o level let alone A level.

I liked it but often wonder why the general public need to study it in such depth at school

O level / GCSE isn't a great depth.  Most people don't go beyond that.

That level of understanding is useful at times.  Look at how many people don't seem have any understanding of all the graphs that are constantly being shown about Covid.

It's also the fact that it's teaching you to think and apply yourself to problems.  In a classroom 150 years ago, that might have been translating something from Latin, but either way you are learning to apply your brain to a problem.
  • I'm halfway through an Electrical & Electronic Engineering HNC (distance learning) and the maths has really fecked my brain. 
    Thought lockdown would have given me more time to study but if anything it's the opposite - especially before the kids went back to school/nursery. 
    Trying to create morphology charts for a tow mount bicycle carrier atm - shoot me.