The Guitar Show 2021

What's Hot
JasonJason Frets: 1120
in Guitar tFB Trader
Hello

I've just programmed the following message on social media to go live in 30 mins, I've been trying to put off the decision for months, knowing really it was inevitable. My guest on the podcast pulled out on the day of recordong with suspected Covid, its has since been confirmed, fortunately he is ok and on the mend already.

If its too long: The Guitar Show 2021 is cancelled, back in 2022.

This week’s episode of 9-42 didn’t go to plan, our guest ended up in bed with suspected COVID (since confirmed), so, Ant and I ended up discussing this…

The message I didn’t want to write – The Guitar Show 2021 is cancelled.

I’ve been organising events for almost 25 years, I’ve never had to cancel an event before, but these, as we keep being told, are unprecedented times.

I have considered pushing it further in to the year, but that brings the risk of postponing it again and again, just like the gigs we never seem to get to, its not fair on the venue, the exhibitors or you, the visitors.

I have considered trying an online event, but I remain unconvinced at the success of these types of shows, I think they probably work better for trade shows, rather than public shows, to me they are not much more than a YouTube channel, perfectly valid, just not for me.

I want to do events that I’m happy to stand behind and I have only ever wanted to make The Guitar Show something that I would want to go to myself.  The Guitar Show 2020 was the best so far; this makes the decision particularly heartbreaking. Obviously the heath and safety of my visitors and exhibitors is paramount, add to that the current lockdown and the potential differing tiers that we are all likely to be in and out of for the foreseeable future, and the planning of TGS 2021 becomes untenable.