Faith Mercury fans?

What's Hot
ronnybronnyb Frets: 1747
I've fingerpicked ever since i started playing guitar many moons ago, flatpicking, arpeggio etc and since the March lockdown i've been trying to master the dead thumb delta blues type of thing. I've got a couple of dreadnoughts and a jumbo acoustic but quite like the idea of a parlour size 12 fret. Faith seem to get a good press and a Mercury could just be the thing. Is there much difference in sound between the naked and gloss ones and is the scoop version really practical, allowing much more access passed the 12th fret? Any advice appreciated.  
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• WhitecatWhitecat Frets: 5402
    Not had any hands on with a Mercury but have a Neptune and it’s a great guitar. Impressive build - has some nice trim that would cost big extra upcharge money with the large American makers. Recommend the brand anyway!
  • ronnybronnyb Frets: 1747
    Problem is you can’t get to try one anywhere.
  • AlanLAlanL Frets: 0
    I have a Mercury Eclipse and I would recommend it. It's a lovely guitar with a lovely tone.  The scoop seems to work well, at least for my fingers.   I seem to remember one reviewer describing it as having a more modern sound.  If you are playing a lot of blues, it doesn't have the traditional "honky" sound that something like the Art & Lutherie Roadhouse has.

I can't comment on the difference between the naked and gloss version of the Mercury but I have had both versions of the Faith Venus.   My own preference was very much for the gloss version as the sound seemed more focused (to my ears anyway). 
  • GTCGTC Frets: 263
    I had a Mercury Eclipse (a lefty) a while back and I was very impressed by the sound and build quality. I was not such a fan of the 43mm nut width though.