Fret levelling...

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• JazzthatJazzthat Frets: 163
    No, I use double sided tape
    Oh ok , thanks .
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • Is it possible to get long lengths of finer grades of grit/wet n dry paper? Or do you just butt up to each other on the beam (oo-er... sounds a bit wrong!)?
    I buy abrasives on a roll and cut it into strips to fit my sanding beam. I start with P180 btw.
    Can I ask where you get the abrasives from and how fine they get go? Cheers Simon
  • SteveRobinsonSteveRobinson Frets: 7014
    tFB Trader
    I can't remember, I've had the roll for years. Axminister probably.

After the beam I use Stewmac diamond coated fret levelers then after recrowning increasingly fine abrasives and Micromesh pads to polish the frets.
  • Thanks Steve
  • chris_johnchris_john Frets: 162
    I'm also a novice at fret jobs. I bought a fret rocker tool to check high spots, and I don't really understand what I have found.
    Using the tool, I can see that a fret is higher than the two frets either side of it. However, the fret next to it is also higher than  the adjacent frets.  I'm not sure what's going on there. 
  • SteveRobinsonSteveRobinson Frets: 7014
    tFB Trader
    I'm also a novice at fret jobs. I bought a fret rocker tool to check high spots, and I don't really understand what I have found.
    Using the tool, I can see that a fret is higher than the two frets either side of it. However, the fret next to it is also higher than  the adjacent frets.  I'm not sure what's going on there. 
    Have you checked that your neck is straight? If it's backbowed then it will rock on most frets
  • chris_johnchris_john Frets: 162
    Have you checked that your neck is straight? If it's backbowed then it will rock on most frets