Pedalboard power advice

robdynamiterobdynamite Frets: 95
Hi all,

I've come to a point where i've got more pedals that just a tuner and a drive pedal now and i'm wanting to put a board together.

I need advice on how to power it. I've got a Boss tuner, OCD, noisegate, a MXR carbon copy and i've just bought a '87 MIJ Boss Chorus. 

The issue comes with the chorus, am i right in thinking it'll need a 12v supply and the rest 9v's?

I am a complete novice with pedal boards as i typically just have a tuner and OCD with 9v's in them!

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated. Cheers.
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• RickLucasRickLucas Frets: 401
    Contrary to what the internet may tell you, you don't need to spend loads. Most pedals require 9V DC, certainly the ones you list do. Something like this will do the job:
    BERLS 9V Pedal Power Supply Guiter Effects AC Adapter and DC Tip Negative 5 Way Daisy Chain Cables Charger for Boss, Digitech, Behringer, MXR, Ibanez, Zoom, EBS, Guyatone, BIYANG: Amazon.co.uk: Musical Instruments

• stickyfiddlestickyfiddle Frets: 26949
    re the Boss chorus, this is interesting... 

http://stinkfoot.se/archives/726

It may well work just fine on a 9 daisychain.
    The Assumptions - UAE party band for all your rock & soul desires
  • RickLucasRickLucas Frets: 401
    If your total current draw exceeds what the adapter can deliver, or if you have digital pedals, you might have problems with hum or high-frequency interference, in which case a bigger PSU with isolated outputs will be necessary. 
  • EricTheWearyEricTheWeary Frets: 16294
    s that Boss a CE3? looks like they need a 9v supply, be surprising if they didn't ( the whole centre negative 9v thing seems to be because that is the standard that Boss adopted).