When did student accommodation become stupidly expensive?

What's Hot
2»

Comments

• HeartfeltdawnHeartfeltdawn Frets: 22097
    Greatape said:
    ....on top of tuition fees and other expenses. 

It's insane. 
    My first year on campus in 1997 was a shade over 1500 for the academic year (September to the end of May). Roughly 35 quid a week. Going by the Bank of England inflation calculator, the figure for 2020 had it followed inflation would be £2,978 for the 44 week term. 

That same accommodation is £142 per week for the 2021-22 academic year. All tenancies cover the 44 week term so a total of £6,248. 

Staggering. 

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • EricTheWearyEricTheWeary Frets: 16254
    Rocker said:
    Slightly off topic but self catering in Rye is not far off the cost of one of the better B&Bs in the area. And B&B give a cooked breakfast and your bed is made!
    When I was a student there was quite a nice hotel next door to the main lecture buildings and there were certainly students who stayed in there. No additional costs, you don't have to pay for the whole year or even holiday periods. I never went into the detail of it but it worked out for some people. 

Tipton is a small fishing village in the borough of Sandwell. 
  • martmart Frets: 5205
    Is it because, with the generous terms of student loans, they have no need of ever actually paying it all back so the landlords see it as free money?
    Fixed that, to reflect the fact Martin Lewis keeps going on about, which is that most students don't repay their loans, so it's not actually a loan at all.

Having said that, the student loan system does scare a lot of people off, disproportionately those from lower income backgrounds. That must mean that the average university goer is now significantly richer, and I wonder if they are consequently happier to pay much higher rents than students would have paid in the past.