New kitchen - where'd you get yours from

What's Hot

Comments

• Rowby1Rowby1 Frets: 1274
    edited May 2021
    I do it for a living.

Don’t touch Wren.

Howdens are good. I have an account and have fitted a lot of their stuff.

If you can get a recommendation from someone you know locally that’s a good move.

Don’t trust trusted traders. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • boogiemanboogieman Frets: 12346
    edited May 2021
    Rowby1 said:
    I do it for a living.

Don’t touch Wren.

If you can get a recommendation from someone you know locally that’s a good move.

@Rowby1 good to hear an actual fitter recommend Howdens as we’re having another one done soon. Interested to hear what the issue is with Wren? We had a couple of fitters quote for our kitchen and one said he’d done a couple of Wren ones. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom
  • markslade07markslade07 Frets: 833
    the_jaffa said:
    BigMonka said:
    If you’re thinking of fitting it yourself then I can really recommend DIY Kitchens (https://www.diy-kitchens.com/). They’ve got a physical showroom in Pontefract but even then when it comes to placing the order they sit you down at a PC in the showroom and you do it yourself on the website. I was really impressed with the quality of the cabinets and doors (I didn’t get a worktop so can’t comment on those).

Howdens can be ok, but you get what you pay for with the different price points. We had a utility room put in with Howdens cheap stuff and the plasticy paint coating on the doors has delaminated from the MDF backing.

As others have mentioned the Howdens pricing is a complicated model in that the retail price is huge but each fitter with an account gets a decent discount. The more kitchens they buy from Howdens from bigger the discount, so you may not get the same price from two fitters.