So... Mountain Bikes (and NMBD).

What's Hot
octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33791
Continuing on from the road bike thread- anyone riding mountain bikes?

I have been riding an old GT Aggressor since 2000- decent bike for a 3x7 gear set in the budget end.
Have a weekend up in Norfolk in a few weeks going trail riding and wanted to get something fun and not as serious as the Specialized.

After a couple of weeks of deliberation and test rides I ended up getting a Whyte 629 29er.
Massively different to the road bike of course but man alive this thing is fast and not just for a mountain bike.
Just rode it the 20km from the bike shop to here and I was flying past commuters and a fair few of the serious cyclists on their 26" road wheels.

It is clown shoes funny in person- it just looks mad and ridiculous but very, very comfortable and amazingly quick and stable down hill.
I admire the Specialized road bike as a good piece of engineering and enjoy it but this is a bike that you really love to ride and slightly fall in love with.
Cannot wait to take it properly off road.

Silly as a bum full of smarties.

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• SambostarSambostar Frets: 8745

I got a 2013 Scott Aspect 910 recently, also a 29er.  Also goes like a rocket and the hydraulic brakes stop on the button, so much so I keep falling off when I am idling.  Probably very similar spec to that.

It does look nice that bike, but so does mine eh.

Do you notice any difference when you click your RockShox uphill?

Only thing I notice is you can't do 50mph, because of the lack of a large chain ring.

Backdoor Children Of The Sock
  • octatonicoctatonic Frets: 33791
    edited July 2014
    The RockShox seems to lock pretty well- I mostly had it locked off on the ride home, except when I bombed across Hyde Park.

I looked at Scott- the Scale 960 was the ones I was thinking of but I couldn't find a deal on it and the Whyte was 20% off.