Bassist learning guitar

What's Hot
wintoidwintoid Frets: 27
I'm a hobbyist who has played bass (and sax and keyboards) for 40 or so years.  Of course, I know my way around a guitar enough to strum the basic chords, include barre chords, but it's always been a bit of an afterthought for me.  I'm finally thinking about trying to learn properly, and to get myself a decent electric guitar.  I'll be playing and recording myself at home.

We've got a crummy acoustic here, and I've been mucking around with it.  Youtube seems to be full of stuff I'd like to learn, including the CAGED stuff and the various alternate picking/pickslanting stuff.  I've got very little interest in playing fast runs/lines, but definitely really interested in learning how to use a pick to make very precise arpeggiated chords.  At the moment, I am weak on rhythmic precision, especially when crossing strings.

Obviously all that is a huge amount to learn.  I wondered, given my aims, whether there is obvious stuff I should skip, and obvious stuff I should focus on.  I don't use a pick on my bass, and I feel quite helpless using a pick on the guitar.  I really want to master it.

So, for example, should I skip pickslanting, but learn economy picking.  Or should I just focus on CAGED and the pick dexterity will come with the practice?  I want to get my technique right before bad habits set in.

I'm very grateful for any pointers anyone would care to share with me.

Thanks,

Simon
Click here for my feedback
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• TanninTannin Frets: 5268
    My tip, as a reformed bass player, would be - don't bother with a pick. Play with your fingers. Doesn't matter what genre you like, from George Thorogood through to Mark Knopfler, all those styles go well with fingers and there is a lot of stuff you can't do any other way. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 4reaction image Wisdom
  • RockerRocker Frets: 4947