Amp Speakers

hotpickupshotpickups Frets: 1826
edited August 2014 in Amps

I'm thinking of building an amp one day from a donor amp etc and put it into another cab and speakers etc. However, everyone has their own preferred speaker preference in different amp combinations etc. However, how do you know which? I mean some of these speakers go for around £300. So is it an expensive trial and error scenario or do you send them back if you don't like them etc?

Also if the donor amp came only with a one speaker output and you wanted to have it go into a 2 x speaker output is it complicated to put the extra wires to the amp etc? I am a novice by the way guys :)

Link to my trading feedback:  http://www.thefretboard.co.uk/discussion/59452/
0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• CirrusCirrus Frets: 8563
    edited August 2014
    It's trial and error, how else would you know? Maybe you can make an educated guess that if your amp is bassy a bassy speaker might make it too bassy, but how do you know it's a bassy speaker until you hear it? Frequency response graphs and technical specs posted by speaker manufacturers mean little in the real world - in fact I find them totally useless in determining what something will sound like and how it'll work for me.

I've probably tried 20 different types of speakers over the last 5 years. So I know what my preferences are...
  • hotpickupshotpickups Frets: 1826
    Cirrus said:
    It's trial and error, how else would you know? Maybe you can make an educated guess that if your amp is bassy a bassy speaker might make it too bassy, but how do you know it's a bassy speaker until you hear it? Frequency response graphs and technical specs posted by speaker manufacturers mean little in the real world - in fact I find them totally useless in determining what something will sound like and how it'll work for me.