Increasing infection rates

What's Hot

Comments

• AdeyAdey Frets: 1176
    I'm not an expert, but as I understand it, any sort of vaccination doesn't put an invisible barrier around people that stops the virus even getting close to you.

The virus can still enter your system and the antibodies you have start attacking it earlier than you would manage otherwise.

So if I were to walk into a room full of the Measles virus, even though I've had my Measles innoculation, the virus could enter my system. My immune system would then start attacking it. But if I was tested the next day, I might test positive for Measles. Yet, if tested two days later it would be gone.

Is it not the same for Coronavirus? If you keep testing as much as we are, you're going to keep finding it?
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 2reaction image Wisdom
  • m_cm_c Frets: 768
    Adey said:
    I'm not an expert, but as I understand it, any sort of vaccination doesn't put an invisible barrier around people that stops the virus even getting close to you.

The virus can still enter your system and the antibodies you have start attacking it earlier than you would manage otherwise.

So if I were to walk into a room full of the Measles virus, even though I've had my Measles innoculation, the virus could enter my system. My immune system would then start attacking it. But if I was tested the next day, I might test positive for Measles. Yet, if tested two days later it would be gone.

Is it not the same for Coronavirus? If you keep testing as much as we are, you're going to keep finding it?
    From my understanding that is pretty much it, but it depends on the vaccine and the disease.
    Some vaccines are very effective, as they train our immune systems to recognise some diseases immediately, so they're never likely to reproduce sufficiently for it ever to be detected. This is what's officially know as sterilising immunity, and why we've managed to pretty much eradicate some diseases.