Strat stacked pot help

What's Hot
RabsRabs Frets: 2648
edited November 2021 in Making & Modding tFB Trader
Allo all..  Been a while since I posted anything in here. Not been back at my builds yet   But hopefully will soon.

Anyway, in the meantime I was given  a Strat to look at.. Now Strats are not my area of expertise. I have not built many with that kind of pickup configuration or with that type of switch.. BUT whats really got me is that bridge tone pot.. From what I gather its some kind of treble bleed type thing??  I always thought that sort of pot was for duel control knobs..  But its just a normal knob and when you turn it, it feels broken. Issue is I have never used that kind of pot before...  So is it meant to feel different from a normal knob? It works but its doing that thing where it continually turns...

0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 0reaction image Wisdom

Comments

• SteveRobinsonSteveRobinson Frets: 7343
    tFB Trader
    It's a TBX control, which as ICBM will tell you stands for TotalBolloX. 
    0reaction image LOL 0reaction image Wow! 3reaction image Wisdom
  • RabsRabs Frets: 2648
    tFB Trader
    So some type of bleed then? And I am assuming this pot is broken or do they work differently to other pots in the way they turn?  Is there a better way to do the same thing then?  I assume its meant to be done to get the best out if that bridge pickup?
    tFB Trader
    It's a TBX control, which as ICBM will tell you stands for TotalBolloX. 
    Ok done some reading so thanks..  So is the general consensus that its a bit crap and the best thing to do is just replace it and with a normal 250k pot and wire it as standard?
  • ICBMICBM Frets: 74472
    edited November 2021